The International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) is a specialized agency of the UN set up in 1957 as the world's centre for cooperation in the nuclear field, the Agency works with 168 Member States and multiple partners worldwide to promote the safe, secure and peaceful use of nuclear technologies. 

The IAEA headquarters are located in Vienna, Austria, regional offices located in Toronto, Canada and Tokyo, Japan. The agency is composed by six major departments, Management, Nuclear Sciences and Applications, Nuclear Energy, Nuclear Safety and Security, Technical Cooperation and Safeguards. 

The IAEA General Conference takes place every year to consider and approve the Agency's programme and budget and to decide on other matters brought before it by the Board of Governors, the Director General and Member States.

The IAEA organised its last International Conference on Radiation Protection in Medicine on 11–15 December 2017, Vienna, Austria. Ms Nicole Denjoy (DITTA's Vice-Chair) intervened in the Breakout Session ("30 years of regulating medical exposures: progress so far, challenges and opportunities - Manufacturers' Perspective"), and in the Round Table B ("How are we meeting radiation protection challenges in design and implementation of new technologies? Manufacturers' Perspective"). More information about this event is available here.